Missing Children’s Law Enforcement Award


  • The award is intended to recognize the efforts of an individual law enforcement officer.
  • Nominations will not be accepted from relatives or friends; nor will self-nominations be accepted.
  • The exemplary actions of the individual who is being nominated for the award must have taken place in 2013.
  • This award is for individuals within the United States only.
  • Incomplete applications will not be accepted.
  • DOJ is responsible for making the final selection of the winner of this award.
  • DOJ reserves the right to not select a winner for this year based upon the applications received.
  • All submitted materials become the property of DOJ.


Nominee Criteria

  • The nominee must be an active member of the law enforcement community.
  • The nominee must meet one of the following criteria:
    1. Was actively involved in an investigation leading to the safe recovery of a missing/abducted child.
    2. Developed a program, policy or guidelines that significantly improved the safety of children.
    3. Made a significant impact on missing or abducted children’s issues or programs at the department, county, regional, State, or national level.


Complete the nomination form, including a maximum 750-word description of the action or contribution of the nominee.

Contribution Summary

Describe the investigative or program contribution in the space provided on the Nomination Form. The summary must include specific details describing the nominee’s contribution, which may involve either an extraordinary investigation or a significant program contribution. The description should include all relevant participating agencies, including any federal entities. Relevant additional materials (i.e., newspaper articles, awards, letters of support, etc.) may be included with the application.

  • Nominator Information

  • Nominee Information

  • Contribution Information

    Describe, in detail, the exemplary actions of the nominee during 2013 and why the nominee should receive this award. This description should not exceed 750 words.
  • File types allowed: .pdf, .doc, and .docx